RSS

Eon by Greg Bear

02 Apr

Eon (The Way, #1)Eon by Greg Bear
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve read reviews that contain complaints about the tension with Soviet Russia in the beginning of the book and the difficulty visualizing the ‘world’ Greg Bear created. I can see where these things might turn some off.

However, I remember the Cold War and it was freaking scary as hell. I remember the collapse of the USSR as being a wonderful surprise. I can hardly blame the author for not forseeing that. To me the tension and politics at the beginning of Eon are perfectly believable. It’s fiction anyway.

I may not have imagined the ‘worlds’ as Greg Bear wanted but what I did visualize was awesome. It filled me with wonder as the scientists discovered new worlds and new things within the environment the author created. These scientists from all over the world also learned about each other and to me, that was cool too.

Granted, I first read this at 16yrs but i recently re-read this and was just as entertained. I am a fan of Hard Sci Fi and will always love this story.

View all my reviews

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2011 in Science Fiction

 

Leave a Reply

 
