RSS

The Blood That Bonds by Christopher Buecheler

07 Jun

The Blood That BondsThe Blood That Bonds by Christopher Buecheler
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Two, ( That really is her name.), is a hooker addicted to heroin. She has a mean pimp, (not sure how many nice ones are out there), that uses her addiction to motivate her to work hard. As is wont to happen, a rich and handsome vampire sees her and decides, (in the epic tradition of Pretty Woman), to turn her for himself. He loves her for no apparent reason and loves her desperately. His master/father doesn’t like this one bit and if you thought the pimp was mean wait until you get a load of dad.

The books reads about as smoothly as my review so far, (in other words: clunky) . The author may as well called me up on the phone to blather on about his book. I felt like I was waiting for the actual story to start while being introduced to two dimensional characters.

Even her transformation to vampire, where we all know is like a body lift and plastic surgery gone super nova, is anti-climatic. She has better skin and her eyes glow but she still is an addict with no personality except now heroin is impossible to use and she’s sick all the time. Oh yah, and she gets to live a really, really long time.

I skimmed big time.

Finally near the end I saw a glimpse of potential to this story. I have to say that book two in this series could possibly be a lot better. I am currently trying to convince myself to put in on my TBR,(To Be Read), shelf. I’m sure if I drink a couple Gin and Juices I will.

View all my reviews

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2011 in Review, Snark

 

Leave a Reply

 
