RSS

The Other Room by James Everington

15 Sep

The Other RoomThe Other Room by James Everington
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book Summary: The Other Room is a collection of weird horror fiction, containing twelve stories of the uncanny and the surreal.

A naive student finds that his crumbling bedsit can be as haunted as any Gothic mansion.

A man stumbles across another world which is the mirror image of his own.

A young woman who everyone thinks is beautiful wonders why, given what she sees in the mirror each morning.

Influenced by writers such as Ramsey Campbell, Shirley Jackson, and Robert Aickman these tales, like all good horror stories, are as much about the psychology of the protagonist as the fate that awaits them.

The Other Room contains both new and previously published stories that will challenge your conceptions of horror and literary fiction.

The Other Room is brain candy. Each story challenges you as you try to guess what is really going on. The first story, which shares the title of this collection, was reminiscent of The Twilight Zone complete with the feeling that things aren’t right in a very bad way. I found myself trying to trump the author and predict the ending. Didn’t work.

I read on to the second story, it had a different feel altogether. A sense of impending doom with no obvious reason why. I found that with each story, James Everington created an atmosphere of expectancy and uncertainty. More importantly, James Everington involves the reader by insisting they draw their own conclusions at the story’s end. I spent time digesting the story, pondering the implications of what the characters experienced. To me, this made The Other Room brilliant. There is nothing I like more than for the story to continue on it’s own after the last word is written.

Although this collection of short stories is described as Horror Fiction, I think Speculative Fiction is a perfect fit as well.

My new goal in life is to read a full length novel written by Mr. Everington. I know the experience will be with me for a long time.

View all my reviews

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
