RSS

No Good Deed by Bill Blais BOOK PROMO!

20 Aug

 

No Good Deed

Author: Bill Blais

Published: March 9, 2012

Synopsis: Kelly McGinnis has spent her adult life trying to do the right thing, but as a newly down-sized mother of twins and the wife of a man living with Muscular Sclerosis, she also knows that trying isn’t always enough.

While interrupting a scene of police brutality, Kelly unwittingly releases a real, live demon. After she manages to kill the creature through gut instinct and blind luck, she is approached to join a secret group of demon hunters who reveal an underworld of monsters and magic. Kelly’s mill town upbringing proves an unexpected asset and the pay more than covers her husband’s treatments, but the work begins to undermine her sense of right and wrong as she struggles to maintain her ‘normal’ life.

When she encounters Umber, a compelling incubus with an unexpectedly human story, Kelly learns that the truth is far stranger and more terrifying than she imagined.

Sneak Peek Into No Good Deed

“Last time,” I say, riding the bravado and pointedly not thinking about what might come next. “Where’s my friend?”

“I don’t know.” His voice is still warm, with a slight timbre to it. The kind of voice you could get lost in.

“Get him back here.”

“Who are you?”

“Look!” I shake the gun. “I’m the lady with the big gun pointed at your face, remember? Get him back!”

“Will you shoot me again?” He spreads his arms wide. “Defenseless and chained as I am?”

I aim at his legs.

“Typical.” He raises his arms beside him as his wings unfold, the torn one only half-extended, with the wounded end hanging almost to the floor.

I keep the gun on him, but this definitely doesn’t feel right. He’s defenseless, and I already shot him once like that. Another mind game? I bite my lip hard, bringing blood, but nothing else changes.

He stands crucified in front me, proud and angry, but strangely calm, as if I’m barely worth bothering with.

Now what? I look around, then point my elbow at Marianne and Rachel. “Fix my friends.”

“To what end? You’ll kill me, either way.”

“No, I won’t.”

He sighs. “Don’t patronize me.”

“No, really! I don’t want to kill you! I just . . . I just . . . .” I exhale loudly in frustration. I’ve shot him three times, already. “Look, just get my people back, okay?”

He looks at me for a moment, the anger replaced by a vague confusion. “Who are you?”

I look down the barrel of the shotgun at him, pinned to the floor, more handsome than is possible, with a hole in his wing that I made. He has wings.

I shake my head. “I’m nobody. I’m confused. I don’t know. I’m obviously the wrong person doing the wrong job.” I shake my head again. “You’re probably messing with my mind just like you did the others, so nothing makes sense and I’m gonna end up sitting on the floor with a stupid grin on my face waiting to be turned into lunch. Dammit.”

His wings slowly fold back and he lowers his arms.

I point the gun again. “Don’t!”

“My name is Umber.” His husky voice is calm between us, and his eyes never leave mine. “I am an incubus, and I am made for enjoyment. My touch is ceaseless pleasure and my kiss is blind ecstasy. I can be whatever you desire. I am fantasy made flesh.”

Umber. I can feel the blood pounding in my ears and my lungs are working overtime. His dark eyes compel me and I can actually feel something between us, almost physical, a deep, slow pull, at the center of my very being, warm and real and just a little demanding.

“But there is always a price.” He turns his gaze to the women on the floor.

I blink hard as a pleasant fog sweeps from my mind again. I hitch the shotgun back up from where it’s sagged. “Like their souls?”

“In the end, yes.” He spreads his hands. “It is what I am.”

Purchase on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Good-Kelly-Umber-Novel-ebook/dp/B007IXY6UC/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1340728224&sr=1-2&keywords=No+Good+Deed) and Smashwords (https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/169916)

Author Bio: Bill Blais is a writer, web developer and perennial part-time college instructor. His novels include Witness (winner of the Next Generation Indie Book Award for Fantasy) and the Kelly & Umber urban fantasy series. Bill graduated from Skidmore College before earning an MA in Medieval Studies from University College London. He lives in Maine with his wife and daughter.

Where to Find the Author:

Website (http://www.billblais.com/)

Goodreads (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1372793.Bill_Blais)

Twitter (http://twitter.com/onemoredraft)

Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/AuthorBillBlais)

Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Bill-Blais/e/B002BLNB7K/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Urban Fantasy

 

Leave a Reply

 
