RSS

Who Is Orpah?

24 Feb

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t posted a review in some time. Life can throw some unexpected curve balls at you, you can pull your mitt out and catch the damn thing or try ducking. Ducking doesn’t work by the way. So, I have decided to dust off my underused mitt and catch.
My greatest pleasure in NovelOpinion is meeting authors who have worked hard on their stories without the benefit of well established publishing houses or representation of the like best-selling authors have. That is not to say that the big name authors started with these advantages, I do understand most authors of any kind have had to struggle in the beginning to get published.
With the advent of Social Media, affordable Desktop Publishing software and blogging sites geared toward readers; Independent and Self-Published authors now have a way to bypass tons of red tape and the never-ending “Sorry we can not accept your manuscript at this time.” letters. This is where I benefit.
As a reviewer, I have had the privilege of being sent hundreds of books by New, Self-Published and Independently-Published authors requesting me to review for them. I am not only honored by the trust these people put in me to give them a fair and unbiased ‘opinion’ on their hard work but I have also been extremely gratified by the level of talent. Most of my favorite books and authors have come from the books I have reviewed and the Indie community.
One of the first things I am doing now that I have ended my unscheduled hiatus, is working with The Kindle Book Review on our second annual Best Indie Books Contest. This will take up a lions share of my time but it is an honor to judge again this year and The Kindle Book Review run by Jeff Bennington is an amazing resource for Indie and Self-Pubbed authors. Please check it out if you haven’t already.

Now. Who is Orpah?
It has taken me a long time catching up with my Social Media contacts. I spend time each day confirming friends requests and loving it. Today I had a friendship request from Orpah Winfrey.
Omg I freaked! First I couldn’t breathe. Then I felt like NovelOpinion had hit the big time. LMAO! As if I ever really cared about ‘Big Time’ anything. Then I got teary eyed and thought,”OMG, I’ve got to contact my author contacts! They have to start promoting on my page! Then I cried, thank God it wasn’t about me. It’s about people who write. The very people that gave me a love for reading. The people who opened my world to a plethora of brilliant stories. You, the Indie or Self-Published author and you, the readers who have also discovered these talented people!

Then I looked at my growing friends list and noticed Oprah was spelled Orpah. I laughed my ass off and came in to write this post!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Who Is Orpah?

  1. jtlewisbooks

    February 24, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    LMAO! That is hilarious! In any case, it’s good to have you back red!

     
  2. Irving Podolsky

    March 4, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Oprah or Orpah, I still love you.

    Irv

     

Leave a Reply

 
